

# REGIONAL MUNICIPALITY OF NIAGARA POLICE SERVICE BOARD SPECIAL PUBLIC MINUTES

Thursday, January 9, 2025

Meeting Held By Electronic Participation Only
ZOOM VIRTUAL MEETING

PSB MEMBERS: P. Chiocchio, Chair

N. Kapisavanhu, Vice Chair K. Gibson, Board Member

L. Ip, Board Member

J. Lawson, Member

T. McKendrick, Board Member

B. Steele, Board Member

D. Reid, Executive Director

D. Cichocki, Executive Assistant

### 1. CALL TO ORDER

The Special Public Meeting of the Niagara Police Service Board commenced at 9:32 am.

# 2. LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT STATEMENT

The Board began its meeting by acknowledging that the Niagara Region is situated on treaty land. This land is steeped in the rich history of the First Nations such as the Hatiwendaronk, the Haudenosaunee, and the Anishinaabe, including the Mississauga's of the Credit First Nation. There are many First Nations, Métis, and Inuit people from across Turtle Island that live and work in Niagara today. The Regional Municipality of Niagara Police Service Board stands with all Indigenous people, past and present, in promoting the wise stewardship of the lands on which we live.

## 3. DECLARATIONS OF CONFLICT/PECUNIARY INTEREST

There were no declarations of conflict or pecuniary interest.

# 4. ELECTION OF CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR

In accordance with Section 36 of the Community Safety and Policing Act, and Section 4 of the Board's Procedural By-law 404-2024, the members of the Board shall elect its Chair and Vice Chair at the first meeting in each year. The Executive Director assumed the Chair and proceeded with the election process.

#### 4.1 Call for Nominations of Board Chair

Deb Reid, Executive Director, called for nominations for the position of Board Chair for a one year term (2025).

Moved by: B. Steele Seconded by: K. Gibson

That Pat Chiocchio be nominated to the position of Chair of the Niagara Police Service Board for the 2025 term.

Member Chiocchio agreed to let his name stand.

**Carried** 

Moved by: L. Ip

Seconded by: T. McKendrick

That Jen Lawson be nominated to the position of Chair of the Niagara Police Service Board for the 2025 term.

Member Lawson agreed to let her name stand.

**Carried** 

# 4.2 Motion to Close Nominations for Board Chair

There being no further nominations, it was:

Moved by: B. Steele Seconded by: K. Gibson

That nominations for the position of Chair of the Niagara Police Service Board for the 2025 term, be closed.

**Carried** 

# 4.3 Voting for Position of Board Chair

There being more than one nomination, nominators and nominees were provided an opportunity to speak to their respective nomination, which at the conclusion a vote was taken resulting with Member Chiocchio receiving the majority of votes.

Moved by: B. Steele Seconded by: J. Lawson

That Pat Chiocchio be elected Chair of the Niagara Police Service Board for the year 2025.

**Carried** 

#### 4.4 Call for Nominations of Board Vice Chair

Deb Reid, Executive Director, called for nominations for the position of Board Vice Chair for a one year term (2025).

Moved by: L. Ip

Seconded by: T. McKendrick

That Nyarayi Kapisavanhu be nominated to the position of Vice Chair of the Niagara Police Service Board for the 2025 term.

Member Kapisavanhu agreed to let her name stand.

Carried

### 4.5 Motion to Close Nominations for Board Vice Chair

There being no further nominations, it was:

Moved by: J. Lawson

Seconded by: T. McKendrick

That nominations for the position of Vice Chair of the Niagara Police Service Board for the 2025 term, be closed.

**Carried** 

# 4.6 Voting for Position of Board Vice Chair

There being only one nomination, the Executive Director called for a motion to confirm the election of Board Vice Chair.

Moved by: B. Steele Seconded by: K. Gibson

That Nyarayi Kapisavanhu be elected Vice Chair of the Niagara Police Services Board for the year 2025.

**Carried** 

# 5. ADJOURNMENT

The Special Public Meeting adjourned at 9:48 am.

Pat Chiocchio, Chair
Deb Reid, Executive Director